Christmas at Chapters

As Christmas approached, P and I started talking about Christmas traditions that we wanted to have as a family. Paul fondly remembers reading Twas a Night Before Christmas every year. I fully support anything that has to do with books and reading so I was on board with this tradition!

We headed to Chapters to find a copy that met Paul’s very high standards (big, but not too big, traditional illustrations but nothing too fancy; Santa as a human, not as a mouse…). We’ve been living in Toronto for almost 2 years, but have only explored a tiny fraction of our new town. What a surprise to find that our closest Chapters was a converted old theater.

IMG_1374

There were fun details all over the store paying tribute to the store’s former life as a theatre.

IMG_1377

I wanted to buy everything in the baby’s first Christmas section.
IMG_1363

There was a whole pile of kids Christmas books – including about 25 versions of Twas a night before Christmas. None of them met Paul’s approval.

IMG_1367

Paul talked me out of buying this for Elijah. Boo. Every kid needs a toddler sized pirate ship!

IMG_1366I had tonnes of fun looking through the kids books. I’m excited about sharing some favourites with E. I had totally forgotten about Encyclopedia Brown!

IMG_1368

I’m thinking that the Secret World of Og may be something I reread again in the near future.

IMG_1369

How fun that we found a Toronto kids book.

IMG_1371

For the record, I haven’t been to either of these places!

IMG_1372

We found Paul’s favourite book.

IMG_1379

As usual, E had a grand time :)

IMG_1361

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas at Chapters

Leave a Reply

